Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Winter Solstice 2010 + Total Lunar Eclipse!

Today is the first day of winter, the shortest day of the year. The earth is receiving less daylight right now then it will all year long for our hemisphere. And for the first time in 372 years we are having a total lunar eclipse fall on the winter solstice and NASA does not even know then the next Winter solstice/total lunar eclipse will ever be.

The eclipse starts 1:33 AM EST on Tuesday December 21, 2010 on the east coast and starts Monday
December 20th at 10: 33 PM PST on the west coast.

The total lunar eclipse will happen at 2:41 AM EST on the east coast and 11:41 PM PST on the west
coast. The total eclipse will last 72 minutes. Check out NASA for more information and news on this.
NASA states that the best time to view the eclipse in totality will be 3:17 AM EST or 12:17 AM PST.
Credit: NASA

The mid day sun will be at its lowest point in the horizon on the 21st of December.  Our family has started a new tradition this year.  We have taken pictures of the kids this day and will continue further with the other
significant points in the earths yearly rotation.

Our days will now start to get longer and longer and the beginning of winter activities will start.  The kids are completely excited about the winter this year.  We have many great activities and crafts for them to do throughout the season.

Further reading....


No comments:

Post a Comment

Event Calendar